Turning self-defeating Beliefs into Empowering Questions

Embroidered BrainsTurning self-defeating Beliefs into Empowering Questions

Becoming aware of our thoughts and beliefs can help us change them.

On page 82 in the book ‘Super Brain’ by Dr. Deepak Chopra & Rudolph E. Tanzi self defeating beliefs are referred to as software programs, but “they are even more pernicious since they dig in deeper with every repetition.”

The book lists 6 beliefs and I have turned some of the suggestions to turn these around into questions.

1. It’s all my fault

Why do I focus on a solution? Why is fault finding pointless?

2. I am not good enough

Why am I good enough?
Why am I learning from this?
Why am I improving?
Why am I doing my best?

3. Nothing will work out for me

Why do things have a way of working out for me?
Why do I/can I find a solution?

4. I knew things would go wrong

Why am I focusing on a better possible future?

5. I can’t do anything about it

Why can I do something about it?
Why can I find someone who can do something about it?
Why do I have options/possibilities?
What can I do to make things better?

6. It was just a matter of time

Why do I look for opportunities/possibilities?
Why do I look for the gift contained in this situation?
Why will this pass?

We have a powerful internal search engine and we can activate it with empowering questions.

Researching searching beliefs led me to this Resources for the General Public on Cognitive Therapy and Stress Management site.

The book ‘Super Brain’ has a wealth of information and great suggestion!

Photo Credit: Hey Paul Studio

Leave a Comment!

Share this!

11 thoughts on “Turning self-defeating Beliefs into Empowering Questions”

  1. Hi Yorinda,
    I had to go back and read your post again. Most people turn the negative into a positive but you have made us actually think more in depth about those positive answers we are looking for.

    Great post. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Hi Yorinda,

    I firmly believe that the quality of our results equals the quality of our questions. If we want to achieve more, have more, or be and do more, the most rapid route to success is asking better questions. And then, once we have asked good questions, we must be honest about the answers and take action đŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hello Yorinda, I ha ve never heard of this book Super Brain’ by Dr. Deepak Chopra & Rudolph E. Tanzi before. I do think it is important to ask ourselves empowering questions as well and then to sit quietly and seek out those answers too.

    I am going to go to the library this week and see if I can’t get a hold of this book..
    Thanks for sharing.. Chery :))

    Like

  4. Hi Yorinda. As Monna pointed out, I had to read this post twice as well! But now I got it. I do see the power of asking oneself these questions when having negative thoughts. Wouldn’t they be great to put on flashcards? That way you could take them out whenever you caught yourself having negative thoughts as a great reminder to turn your thinking process around.

    Like

  5. Hi Yorinda,

    With the holidays I have spent more time with people, my parents generation, who more strongly exhibit some of the limiting beliefs that you listed above. It has been a little depressing. Turning them around into positive questions that your subconscious can search for answers for is a great idea. Thanks for sharing it.

    Ben

    Like

  6. Hi Yorinda. I love the new look of your blog! I enjoyed this article because it is similar to the one I did on Noah St. John and his afformations. It does help to question your mind because it is always searching for answers. We can tell ourselves all day that we are not fat, stupid, a loser, fearful, or whatever, but the subconcious brain just doesn’t buy it. Thanks for sharing this valuable information.

    Like

  7. Hello Yorinda. I have that very same book sitting somewhere in my apartment waiting to be read (amongst a few other titles that I am devouring) and I have got to get through the whole thing precisely because of information like the one you share here.

    I love what you’ve done here with your beliefs! As always, however, the hard part is having the self awareness to notice you are having thoughts that reflect the beliefs listed… fortunately, with practice, one can only get better and better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

